Associations between multiple databases

Hi, I’ve been using ROM for several years but never between multiple databases at once, until now. I’m trying to create an association between a postgres relation and a sqlite relation. My container has two gateways, one for the postgres db and one for the sqlite db. I set the gateway for each relation with gateway :name_of_gateway. Then I create basic has_many and belongs_to associations between the two relations.

However, when I compose a query using combine(:other_relation), I get an exception that shows the sql adapter looking for the tables in the wrong database. I can’t find any documentation on how this should work, so I could be going about it all wrong. Happy to post more explicit examples of my code, but thought I’d ask first if there’s a proper way to make this work. Thanks.

1 Like

Double check that the gateways are correctly configured by inspecting relation’s dataset objects. This should just work.

Did you solve your problems?

Thanks @solnic and @wuarmin , I was not able to solve this issue. I worked around it by creating a method on the entity that pulls in the associated records when needed. Here’s what works and what doesn’t.

Works:

• Basic CRUD on any one table from either of two gateways (postgres, sqlite)
  • Using combine method with associations between two tables on the same gateway.

Doesn’t work:

• Using combine method with associations between two tables on different gateways. The sql of the ROM::Relation::Combined object shows it is attempting to perform INNER JOIN between the two tables on different gateways.

I can post my setup and the errors I’m getting, but meanwhile, here’s a raw copy-paste of a ROM::Relation::Combined object that shows attempted joins between two gateways. Sorry it’s not in the most useful/readable format here.

irb(main):073:0> Rom::Users.by_pk("123456789").combine(:servers)